Pork and Candy Apples

My favorite thing about any type of pork dish is that it always comes with apple sauce (and if it doesn’t I am incredibly disappointed) so when I decided to try my hand at making pork chops I wanted to try to incorporate the apples right into the dish. A one pot kind of deal.

When I pulled out the ingredients to go into my sauce (nutmeg, cinnamon, brown sugar, curry powder) I knew it would either be a fantastic success or an epic failure.  The last time I tried to make a sauce like this it turned into a full on thick caramel goop, so thick it was actually inedible and burned my stove top.  Not just something got stuck to my stove top but actually burned it.  So anyways, I decided to be brave and try this.  And it worked.

 

pork2
Before the oven

The sauce made a nice balance against the savoury pork and gave the apples a delicious candy flavor so much so that it felt like dessert for dinner only better.

pork3
freshly baked

 

It was simple to make and well worth the effort. My two roommates and I devoured the entire pan. It was just that good. I served mine with cauliflower mashed potato and peas but feel free to use your favorite pork dish sides.

The part you want to know, the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 4 Granny smith apples, peeled and sliced
    6 boneless pork chops
    6Tbsp butter
    6 Tbsp brown sugar
    1 tsp cinnamon
    1 tsp nutmeg
    1/2 tsp curry powder

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350F. Layer the apples in the bottom of the baking dish.
  • Lay the pork chops on top of the apples.
  • In a small saucepan melt the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg and curry powder. Stir constantly.
  • Pour sauce over the pork chops and apples.
  • Bake at 350F for 45 minutes.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

