Spiced Sole with Tomatoes

I have been trying to find new ways to incorporate fish into my diet. I was never a big fan of fish, I always deemed it as ‘too fishy’ and would opt for the peanut butter sandwich instead, but I started experimenting more in the kitchen I have discovered that in actual fact I do quite enjoy it.  I found a large bag of sole fillets at the grocery store for a decent price so I scooped it up with the intention of trying out a bunch of sole recipes to feed to my hungry guinea pigs (I mean roommates).

Not too long ago I made a salmon and tomato dish so I wanted to try something kind of similar for my very first dalliance with some sole.  While I realize that salmon and sole are in no way similar other than that they both once swam in the ocean, but I haven’t had a whole ton of experience with fish so I wanted to go with something I kind of knew worked.

So here we are, spiced sole with tomatoes.

 

Ingredients

  • 6 sole fillets
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped finely
  • 1 orange bell pepper, diced
  • 4 chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder

Directions

  1. In a saucepan add garlic, bell pepper, tomatoes and spices. Cook until tomatoes are soft.

20170212_182146
Spiced tomato sauce

 

2. In a separate skillet sautee the sole fillets (I sautéed mine in a bit of butter for about 3 minutes) and add some salt and pepper to the fillets.

20170212_183641
sole fillets

 

  • Serve the sole fillets with the sauce. We had ours with rice, peas and garlic bread.
Leave a Reply

