Maple Cupcakes

I don’t know about you but I find baking to be incredibly relaxing. There is just something about taking a few cups of flour, sugar and butter and turning it into something else.  And even better, it always results in yummy treats at the end.

But not just the deliciousness it produces but the process of baking itself.  When I bake I lose myself in the bowl in front of me.  I put on some music or a podcast and just enjoy the process.  I love the smell that fills my kitchen as my dishes go into the oven, I love that freshly baked smell when I am waiting for it to cool.  So after a rough day at work I was pretty relieved to be able to get home and start making a few cupcakes.

20170218_214430

These maple cupcakes are delicious warm with a little bit of vanilla ice cream and are perfect in packed lunches or a late night snack.  In fact, they are good however you choose to eat them. I took the recipe from my grandmother’s vanilla cupcakes but I apparently misplaced my vanilla extract the last time I baked so I improvised with the maple extract instead.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tsp maple extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Directions

20170218_215130

  • Preheat oven to 350F
  • In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until smooth. Add the egg, maple extract and buttermilk and mix until smooth.
  • Add the flour and baking powder to the bowl and stir until it is all evenly mixed.
  • Pour into greased cupcake pans.
  • Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.
  • Optional: melt some baking chocolate to decorate the cupcakes.
  • This mix made 15 cupcakes. I did 10 with the chocolate topping and the rest plain.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing the recipe:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks really yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

