The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney

This was a hard read and even harder to actually sum up my thoughts about.  So much so I had difficulty knowing what to say at all.

The basic premise is that a boarding school student is date raped and a secret society within the school called The Mockingbirds steps up to help her out. Thankfully the subject is something I know very little about, my entire knowledge of the subject comes from the media and tv.

20170218_115515

All that being said I found this to be a very powerful read and I spent a great deal of time thinking about it after I had finished the book.  This is Daisy Whitney’s first book and in some parts I could tell that this was the case, but I could also tell that she was speaking from the heart and I would prefer that over some monotone prose anytime.  And I did find it to be powerful so obviously the lack of writing experience didn’t get in the way of the message.

I have tended to avoid issues books in the past, either I am too close to a subject or too far removed, so I haven’t read too many of these types of books and to be honest when I got it from the library I kind of just picked 5 books at random and waited to be surprised when I got home. I am however curious to check out some of the other titles by this author.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. We’ll done for pushing the boundaries of your reading

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

