Tea Cakes

Have you ever been in that situation, you want to bake, choose the recipe sure you have all the ingredients and start only to find out part way through that you actually don’t have everything?  I had the oven preheated, my cupcake pans greased and ready to go, the butter, sugar and eggs in a bowl and when I went to the fridge to grab the milk the carton was empty (thank you roommates who put the empty carton right back on the shelf).  I was in my baking zone so I really didn’t want to have to leave the apartment at that particular moment and no one else was home so I decided to improvise.  I have a whole stash of tea, so I steeped 4 tea bags in boiling water and had my no milk substitute all ready to go.  And surprisingly it worked.

20170308_135736_medium2Ingredients

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup strong brewed tea
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Mix butter and sugar in a bowl.  Add vanilla and eggs.
Stir in flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Stir in the tea and add chocolate chips.
Bake at 350F for 30 minutes.

20170311_171830_medium2

 

 

Leave a Reply

