Cinnamon Glazed Pork and Pears

I have always loved pork and apples, it is a winning combination so much so that I am disappointed when a pork dish does not come with an apple side.  But I found some good looking pears at the grocery store and was inspired to try something new. Not least of which because you can only have so much of a good thing before it starts to get just a tad boring. Pork and pear, it’s gotta work right?

A brief search online and I found this and this, I took elements from each, added some things of my own and came up with this.  It’s similar in method to the Pork and Candy Apples I made a while back, but I eliminated the brown sugar (because I appear to have run out) and the nutmeg, and just used the cinnamon instead.  Let me tell you that if you like cinnamon this is delicious!

20170308_180321

 

Ingredients:
6 Bartlett pears (4 peeled and sliced, 2 diced)
1 package of pork chops
1/4 cup butter
2 cloves garlic (finely chopped)
2 tbsp. cinnamon powder

Directions:
Slice 4 of the pears and lay them flat on the bottom of the baking dish.
Lay the pork chops in the baking dish, on top of the sliced pear.
In a saucepan melt the butter over a medium heat, add the garlic, cinnamon powder and combine.
Add the diced pear to the saucepan.
Pour the butter sauce over the pork chops.
Bake in the oven at 400F for 45 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

