The Forest (2016)

Okay, so here’s the thing. This movie was almost impossible to track down, finally had to order it online cos absolutely nowhere sold it.  Maybe that should have told me something but when my roommates and I saw the trailer for this last year we were pretty sure we wanted to see it.  It’s a horror movie, it’s kind of a requirement.

Set in the so called suicide forest in Japan, it really does seem that the best bits were in the trailer.  Sara (Natalie Dormer) goes to the Aokigahara Forest to search for her missing twin sister.  She enters the forest, ignores her expert guide’s advice to leave before nightfall, and it all goes downhill from there.  The scares were fast, which can be nice in some instances, I kind of like the blink and you miss it glimmers of fear, but in this case it made the movie a little hard to follow.  I found Sara to be whiny and annoying so maybe that caused me to be less than enthusiastic the longer this thing dragged on.  At some point I know I stopped caring about her at all.

There were a few creepy parts, a few good and creative details thrown into an otherwise lame story, but it wasn’t enough to save this from being one of the worst things I have seen.  Not the worst by any means but definitely made it into my bottom 50 bad horror movies.  Maybe it was the fact that I searched for quite a while for this movie and so I had unrealistic expectations and higher than average hopes but considering this movie was less than mediocre it is hard to say for sure.

Leave a Reply

